Hello all, and welcome to the inaugural installment of the Triple Play Q&A! Woohoo! Just as a little FYI, the idea behind the Triple Play Q&A is to feature one or two erotica/romance authors each week to showcase their work, to give them an outlet to share a bit about themselves, and to have them answer three questions – some serious, some seriously silly – in an effort to get to know them better. And for the opening salvo, have I got a treat for you!

Katie Douglas - 1Helping me kick off the series is none other than Katie Douglas, whose works run the gamut from Scottish historical to the farthest reaches of outer space…and they’re all hot as hell! A ménage savant, Katie’s work is nothing if not steamy, humorous, and playful at heart. Plus, from my own study of her novels (purely for research purposes, you understand) her heroes tend to be complete studs!

But perhaps I should let her introduce herself, right? Well, strap in and prepare yourself for wild twists and turns, exciting career changes, karaoke, and – wait for it – footgasms!!! I’ll let her explain that last one…

Welcome, Katie Douglas!!!


Thank-you for having me on your blog, Jaye! Well…I’m Katie Douglas. I’m 30 and a half. I write BDSM-focussed erotic romance with a generous helping of spanking, that usually features ageplay or menage (or both). I’m an orphan. I worked in the entertainment industry for quite a while, so I’ve had far too many jobs, notably being a pro-ice dancer, a pharmacy assistant, and I guess my main career after skating was as a chemistry teacher, but I am currently completing a master’s degree.

It’s weird, because ice skating actually led me to BDSM. I could not believe how much one person’s feet could hurt after skating in narrow, dainty ice skates for 12-16 hours straight, 6 days in a row. The impact from jumping and the centripetal force from spinning really takes its toll. At some point, one particular day, the pain flipped around into what I thought of as a footgasm. I giggled all the way home on the bus, then I hit Google to figure out WTF. I like to work hard and play hard, so writing BDSM erotic romance was the eventual logical progression.

I am now nearly done with my MSc in information science applied to a specific discipline. Highlights so far have been an internship in publishing, a second internship in archiving, and learning how to do 3D modeling.

In the future, I’d love to make adverts. Ever since I saw Darren in the TV show Bewitched, Katie Douglas - 2I’ve always been in love with well-designed print adverts and the copy that gets written for them. I spend quite a lot of pre-release time designing my books’ adverts and coming up with taglines for them, because I love doing it. When I’m done with studying, I’d like to start designing adverts for other people’s books, too. Adverts are the perfect mixture of words and imagery. So far, my favorite one that I’ve come up with was the “Take a break from ironing” ad for His Naughty Little Housewife. You too can take a break from ironing to read about someone else doing it. Lol.

And here we go with Katie’s Triple Play!

What does your writing space look like when you’re in the thick of a project?

Katie Douglas - 4It looks messy, but it’s that sort of organized chaos with everything in easy reach of the chair. I don’t know that the world is ready to know how many snacks I consume when I’m writing. If people weren’t supposed to snack so much, why are desks still so big in this day and age, when CRT monitors are a thing of the past? When I’m into a project, I will work 12-18 hours a day just on that one thing, until it’s done, so that takes a lot of sugar. Depending on the time of day, there would also be coffee.

If you were a character in a book or series of books, who would you be and why?

That’s a tough one, but probably Bertie Wooster out of the Jeeves and Wooster books by P.G. Wodehouse. I think I’m a little bit cognizant of the power dynamic between Jeeves and his “master” and I love the fact that, while theoretically Bertie’s the one in charge, and can dismiss Jeeves whenever he wants (like a sub can safeword), on a day-to-day basis, Jeeves totally runs things. In my version, I’d be doing the cooking and cleaning, though. Jeeves has impeccable judgement, rapier wit, he’s never badly-dressed, he knows everything about everything and he’s got his “master” so well trained. I adore Jeeves.

Bertie reflects a lot of my worst aspects. I’m this well-spoken, bungling, vapid, dilettante of a British person. I often stumble head over heels into social disasters of my own making, and my slightly old-fashioned dress sense often veers toward the interwar years. But, underneath it all, Bertie is a good sort, and will always help out a friend if they’re in the soup. I love the British 20s and 30s, it’s this heart-wrenchingly bygone era and I think it’s one of the reasons everyone outside Europe is so enamored with the UK. I want to go to that version of Britain, too! That’s where the idea for my upcoming series set in the 1920s came from. *cough* shameless plug *cough*

If it has to be a female character, I’m completely stumped. There’s so many great choices. Any Diana Wynne Jones character, for starters. Possibly Maree Mallory or Polly Whittacker. Diana Wynne Jones is so good at writing strong and interesting female characters. Lyra Belacqua from Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series would have been accurate at one point. Or perhaps Arya Stark. I aspire to being Miss Marple when I’m older, so maybe her?

If you were to perform karaoke, which song would you pick and why?

That’s a tricky one! There’s so many good songs to choose from. In the past, I’ve indecisively scrutinized the list for hours. If I had to just pick something, it’d probably be something by Katy Perry or Britney Spears. Maybe California Gurls or 3.

Katie Douglas - 3

A crowd-pleaser, with fun, catchy lyrics I can bop along to and not feel especially grownup. I avoid emotional songs because I can’t sing when I get teary, so Everytime by Britney is off the list because it gets me… every time. Oh, that was a bad pun. I love most musical styles (except panpipes. Just get a flute already), and grownup me prefers prog rock or heavy metal, but Iron Maiden or Led Zeppelin are not really the best pick for karaoke. I don’t think being in adult space is the way to volunteer for karaoke, though!


Thank you, Katie, for starting off the Triple Play Q&A series with some serious panache!

Would you like to check out some of Katie’s books for yourself? Please click on through the following links and go to town! 

Triple Play Q&A with Katie Douglas

2 thoughts on “Triple Play Q&A with Katie Douglas

Leave a Reply

